Fields draws no opposition; prepares for second judicial term



Volusia County Court Judge Dawn P. Fields was among eight circuit and three county judges in the Seventh Judicial Circuit who drew no opposition last month during the qualifying period.

Judge Dawn Fields

This will be Fields’ second six-year term. She was first elected to the bench in 2006.

Before becoming a judge, the Daytona Beach native was an assistant state attorney for the Office of the State Attorney, Seventh Judicial Circuit, and a high school math teacher.

Fields hears criminal cases
She earned a master’s degree from the University of Central Florida and juris doctor from the University of Georgia.


Fields currently hears criminal cases at the Volusia County Courthouse Annex at City Island in Daytona Beach.

Others drawing no opposition included Circuit Judge Wendy W. Berger, St. Augustine; Circuit Judge Leah R. Case, Daytona Beach; Circuit Judge Patti A. Christensen, Palatka; Circuit Judge William A. Parsons, Daytona Beach; Circuit Judge Terence R. Perkins, DeLand; Circuit Judge C. McFerrin Smith III, DeLand; Circuit Judge J. Michael Traynor, St. Augustine; Circuit Judge Clyde E. Wolfe, St. Augustine; St. Johns County Court Judge Alexander R. Christine, Jr.; and Volusia County Court Judge Belle B. Schumann.

Volusia County Court Judge Bryan A. Feigenbaum has drawn opposition for his Group 8 seat from attorney Michael McDermott.

Attorneys to seek seats
Volusia County Court Judge Peter F. Marshall (Group 4), Flagler County Court Judge Sharon B. Atack (Group 1), Putnam County Court Judge Peter T. Miller (Group 1) have announced they will retire at the end of their terms.

Attorneys Steven R. Burk, Dustin M. Havens, Alan Holt, Christopher Kelly and Adam Warren have qualified to run for the Volusia County Group 4 seat.

Attorneys Don Appignani, Craig Atack, Josh Davis, Marc Dwyer, Sharon Feliciano, Melissa Moore Stens and W. Scott Westbrook have qualified to run for the Flagler County Group 1 seat.

In Putnam County, attorneys Joe Boatwright II, Tito S. Smith and Michael W. Woodward have qualified to run for the Group 1 seat.

Election for theses offices will take place Aug. 14.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here