Daytona Beach Deltas crown Jabberwock queens


The highlight of Jabberwock 2012 in Daytona Beach was the coronation and crowning of the new queens.

From left to right are Dwan Wilson, Miss Jabberwock; Delta Sigma Theta Sorority member Daiserae Thornton; Alma Glover Smith, Jabberwock chair; Maureen E. Taylor, sorority president; and Corianna Favors, Junior Miss Jabberwock. Front row: Amariya Lopez, Little Miss Jabberwock.

Crowned for Jabberwock 2012 titles were Amariya Lopez, Little Miss Jabberwock; Corianna Favors, Junior Miss Jabberwock; and Dawn Wilson, Miss Jabberwock.

Others competing for the tiles were runner-ups Asuante’ Williams, Ja’Niya Hawkins, Aire’l Redding, Saniya Times and Mercedes McMillan.

Jabberwock was held June 30 at Mainland High School.

‘Magical and exciting evening’
Maureen Taylor, president of the Daytona Beach Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, said the organization was elated about presenting a tradition that began in 1951.

“It was a magical and exciting evening of family-fun entertainment that set the occasion for the debut of eight lovely young ladies vying for the titles: Little Miss, Junior Miss, and Miss Jabbberwock,” said Alma Glover-Smith, chair of Miss Jabberwock 2012.

While co-hosting the event with JoJo O’Neal of Star 94.5, Denise Thames expressed appreciation to the Daisy Chains and attributed their presence to the memory of Letitia Holzendorf, Peggy Wesley and Joretha Hayes, who were considered as the Jabberwock gurus during her time.

Under the direction of Carla Lester, Taylor said the audience was dazzled with a broad range of artistic performances ranging from praise dance and spoken word to martial arts and tributes to some of the greatest musical icons.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here