Atlantic High, Ormond Beach Middle teams win Black History Brain Bowl


High school students representing Atlantic High School in Port Orange and a team of students from Ormond Beach Middle School were the big winners at the annual Black History Brain Bowl sponsored by the Daytona Beach Section of the National Council of Negro Women Inc. on Feb. 27.


Prizes for the winners included laptop computers and tablets, as well as other digital equipment.

Each member of the high school team— Mary Goodell, Trinity Jones, Swati Modha and Vishal Modha—received a laptop computer. Harriet Fordham was the coach for the team. Coming in second place was the team from Spruce Creek High School—Natalia Barnett, Olivia Harris, Derricka Irons and Jocelyn Nobles— coached by Sherry D. Hill. Team members also received a prize.

Members of the first-place middle school team were Timothy Moore, Justice Dewees, Yara Nasr and Gabriel Bridges. Each received a tablet as their prize. Constance Poitier served as coach.  The runner-up in the middle school division was a team representing Allen Chapel A.M.E. Church in Daytona Beach —Jared Rivers Jr., Courtney Todman,  Deja King, and Destiny King—that was coached by Sharon McCrary. Team members also received a prize.

“We had some very competitive teams this year,” said Valerie Whitney-Lowery, president of the section. “It was evident that the students really worked hard.”

Chair praises teams
Eyvette Presley and Atavia White served as co-chairs of the brain bowl committee.  “We had some really great teams this year,” White said.

Bethune-Cookman University professors Winifred Johnson and Ray Victor, along with retired educator Betsey Hardeman, served as judges for this year’s event, which took place at the joint University of Central Florida/Daytona State College campus.

Sponsors for this year’s event were Bright House Networks, Bethune-Cookman University Alumni Association, Halifax Health, Gamma Mu Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., Jon Hall Chevrolet, Tony Pearson Insurance, Commissioner Paula Reed, Commissioner Patrick Henry, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc., Embassy of Hope, Greater New Zion Missionary Baptist Church, Publix, Bethune-Cookman University, and Little Caesars Pizza.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here