DeLand football coach quits; district softball tournament in full swin


Ryan Smith has resigned as head football coach at DeLand High School.

Smith plans to apply for the head coaching position at Taylor County High School in Perry. Taylor’s head coach, Price Scott, left for the defensive coordinator position at Tallahassee North Florida Christian.

Smith also mentioned caring for his autistic son as another reason for his leaving and moving to Perry.

In one season at DeLand in 2011, Smith led the Bulldogs to a 9-2 record and the second round of the Class 8A playoffs. Previously, he was 26-10 in three seasons at Gainesville High.

Head weightlifting coach and former Taylor High head coach Al Manning will serve as interim head coach.

Softball district tournaments
Softball district tournaments took place from April 16-21. Here is a look at where local schools stand.
2-8A: Spruce Creek, DeLand, Lake Mary, Oviedo Hagarty, Altamonte Springs Lake Brantley, Sanford Seminole.

Local standout: Spruce Creek’s Ashley Smith (.429BA), Brooke Bovier (.406BA), and Brittany Childs (2.74 ERA, 23 IP, 17 K).

Note: Both Spruce Creek and DeLand have a shot at making the title game and clinching playoff spot. Beating top-seeded and home team Lake Brantley will be tough. Creek is most likely to advance.
3-7A: New Smyrna, University, Viera

Local standouts: New Smyrna Beach: Katlyn Peeples (.567BA), Tiffany Taynor (.482BA), Hayley Garris (2.80 ERA, 38.2 IP, 40 K); University: Penny Nichols (.425BA), Allison Walters (.415BA), Reily Oliver (.400BA), Ileana Torres (.400BA).

Note: The winner of the NSB-University game makes the playoffs and face Viera for the district title and home field advantage.

8-6A: Mainland, Seabreeze, Pine Ridge, Deltona, Orlando Edgewater.
Local standouts: Deltona: Aleima Lopez (.578BA), Danielle Sarcletti (.543BA), Nicole Shinsky (.521BA), Taylor McGowan (.438BA), Brando Jessel (1.57 ERA, 75.2 IP, 50 Ks); Seabreeze: Reghan Bruno (.421BA), Britnee Dowd (.386BA), Kristi Wendland (.386BA); Pine Ridge: Erica Sferrazzo (.462BA)

Note: Deltona and Seabreeze are the top two teams and are expected to play for the title and make playoffs. Pine Ridge can play spoiler.

District 6-4A: Atlantic, Orlando Bishop Moore, Orlando Jones, Orlando Lake Highland Prep.

Local standout: Atlantic: Tabitha Thode (.540BA), Ashley Howard (.478BA), Michelle Hughes (.460BA).

Note: The Sharks are top-seeded and expected to make the playoffs.

District 4-3A: Father Lopez, Lake Mary Prep, Oviedo Master’s Academy.

Local standout: Lopez plays Master’s in the semifinal. A win puts them in the playoffs and title game.
2-2A: Calvary, Jacksonville First Coast Christian, Jacksonville Cedar Christian.

Local standouts:  Calvary Christian Academy: Abigail Clark (.738BA), Rachel Titus (.564BA), MacKenzie Shepherd (.467BA).

Note: Calvary is the top seed and already makes the playoffs as the team hosts the championship game.

8-1A: Taylor, Crescent City, Wildwood, The Villages, Palatka Peniel Baptist.

Local standouts: Taylor: Britnie Lilly (65 IP, 44 Ks, 2.80 ERA), Taylor Campbell (68 IP, 28 Ks, 3.81 ERA).

Note: Taylor is the second-seeded team and is expected to clinch a playoff berth with a chance to win the title.

Flagler schools: Flagler Palm Coast competes in 1-8A with Jacksonville Sandalwood and Mandarin schools. Flagler will host the title game as the top seed and has already made the postseason. Matanzas plays in 4-5A with Ponte Verde Nease, Ponte Verde and St. Augustine Menendez. Matanzas is the second-seeded team but must play well to make title game and clinch playoff berth.

Baseball scores
DeLand-6, Mainland-2; University-4, Flagler Palm Coast-2; University-4, Mainland-0; DeLand-6, Lyman-0; New Smyrna-5, Flagler Palm Coast-0; Taylor-12, Atlantic-0; Spruce Creek-9, Seminole-1; Lopez-9, Lake Mary Prep-0; Creek-6, Seabreeze-0; Lopez-1, Lake Mary-0; Dr Phillips-5, DeLand-3; Miami Westminster-7, Trinity-0; Creek-6, University-3; Pine Ridge-7, Seabreeze-6; DeLand-1, Seminole-0; Good Council (Md)-4, Trinity-2; Taylor-4, Crescent City-0.

Prep Sports Seven Baseball
1. Spruce Creek (19-4), 2. DeLand (20-4), 3. New Smryna (12-8), 4. Mainland (13-9), 5. Father Lopez (10-7), 6. Warner (13-9), 7. Taylor (13-8). Others: Pine Ridge (11-11), Trinity (10-12).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here