Henry, Reed among Daytona Beach winners

Derrick Henry speaks to a crowd during his campaign kick-off event in 2011. (Ashley Thomas/DAYTONA TIMES)

By Ashley Thomas, DAYTONA TIMES – Derrick Henry, the former Daytona Beach City Commissioner who promised to “listen, before I ask to be heard” handily won the Daytona Beach mayoral race last night with a 10 percent edge over candidate Edith Shelley, the current zone 1 city commissioner. Unofficial results from the Volusia Supervisor of Elections office show Henry bringing in 13,814 votes and Shelly  11,089.

Touting “One City, One Vision” Henry states on his website that when “the Mayor, city council and people partner together and blend our ideas, a wonderful thing happens…growth!”

Henry makes history as the first African-American male to be elected as Mayor of the city.

Other key races in the area include the selection of Paula Reed as the next Daytona Beach City Commissioner Zone 6, edging out  opponent Cathy Washington; Carl Lentz won over Ruth Trager for Daytona Beach City Commissioner Zone 1; Robert Gilliland won over Thomas Kaczka for Daytona Beach City Commissioner Zone 4. In the County, Joshua Wagner held his post as the Zone 2 County Councilman winning over opponent Nancy Epps; and Ben Johnson retained his seat as Sheriff over Wendell Bradford.

Other races will be highlighted in this week’s print version of the Daytona Times. For election results in your Volusia County city, go to the Supervisor of Elections website here.






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here