Daytona State Faculty Senate honors staffers



Daytona State College’s Faculty Senate has awarded peers and staff with annual recognition for outstanding service to students and their professions. This year, six faculty and one staff member earned accolades from the college’s Faculty Senate. Additionally, two recently retired faculty received professor emeritus titles at Daytona State College (DSC).


The Faculty Advocacy Award went to Krissy Leonard, senior professor in the School of Student Life Skills. Leonard was recognized for going above and beyond to support, encourage, train and assist faculty in the SLS department, most notably as the college ramped up its offering of SLS 1122, Managing Your Success, a required class for new students.

Bettye Parham, a longtime DSC computer science professor, received the Teaching Excellence Award, which recognizes teaching activities characterized by exceptional dedication and professionalism.

The Les Simons Award for Student Advocacy was given to Maggie Karda, Honors-Quanta program chair. The award goes to faculty who demonstrate exceptional commitment to student learning and success. Karda was noted for devoting her time, energy and focus to students, and for a unique ability to connect individually with students through advising and counseling.

The Dr. John Gutherie Jr. Award for Research and Professional Development was awarded to Music Production Technology professor and assistant program chair Jake Niceley, who was lauded for significant contributions as a professor, composer, musician, producer, designer, engineer and lecturer.

Dr. Judith Isakson, an adjunct professor in the School of Humanities and Communication, received the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award, recognized for creativity in her classroom pedagogy and as exemplary in every way.

The Community Service Outreach Award was bestowed upon English Professor Frank Gunshanan. The award recognizes faculty who demonstrate exceptional service and outreach to the local community. Gunshanan is dedicated to eliminating barriers to success among the college’s homeless student population.

The Faculty Senate also presented its Instructional Support and Encouragement Award to John Brady, associate director of professional development and global education. The award recognizes a staff member whose efforts demonstrate an understanding and concern for the challenges faced by faculty as they work to meet student needs.

Two recently retired faculty also received Professor Emeritus Awards based on their years of meritorious and significant contributions to the areas of teaching and service to the college, community and profession during their careers. This year’s award winners were Dr. Len Lempel, professor of history, and Dr. Ram Nayar, professor of science.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here