20 Votran drivers earn safe driving award from National Safety Council


The National Safety Council (NSC) presents awards each year to transit drivers across the country. The criteria includes a minimum of 15 years or 250,000 consecutive miles driven without a preventable collision.

Votran, Volusia County’s public transit system had 20 drivers to be honored by the NSC this year.

“Having this many award recipients is indicative of how many excellent employees we have,” said Elizabeth Suchsland, Votran’s assistant general manager of operations and maintenance.

“Even with all that’s going on, our drivers are out there providing not only a safer health
environment, but also a safe physical experience riding public transit with Votran. These awards were extremely well-deserved.”

A non-profit safety advocate organization, the National Safety Council divides its awards into 10 geographical regions. Votran drivers compete in the NSC’s South Atlantic Region, which encompasses Florida, Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia.

Of the 20 Votran drivers who earned the recognition, 17 drive fix routes and three provide paratransit service. The 20 honorees are as follows:

Fixed Route

Davidson Abraham
Brenda Daughtry
Richard Delpezzo
Maria Dupree
Nate Flynt
David Forbes
Carl Forster
Mitchell Franklin
Teddy Glenn
Bernard Huggins
Janet Kisner
Betty Kennedy Lowe
Tracey McClary
Jimmy Molina
Adriano Pagan
Thomas Vaughan
Evett “Doc” Wilson


BJ Crooms
Dottie Higgins
Clayton Stanley
Huggins and Wilson are past recipients of the award.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here